Long but Much Needed Post

It’s Nate here.

I have been seeing a lot of complaints about Fantage as always. They always say how wonderful Fantage was back then and how it’s basically no good now. I have decided to make a post gathering information about Fantage back then and Fantage now.

Fantage was released in spring of 2008.What I first saw of Fantage was the back of an advertisement of a magazine I used to read called Discovery Girls. I didn’t realize that was the site I saw until after I joined about two years later. I actually realized it after that too.

The following things I am going to talk about next go together so that’s why I am talking about them at the same time. Fantagians who played back then created some really funny one word usernames. Sadly you can’t really do it anymore so it’s really rare or surprising to see people with one word users. The second thing is that people made armies and fought against each other. The leaders were donut, 2008sarah, and I think wind. I found her youtube channel and some blog posts which I will put down later.

Sites need money to keep their website up. They eventually had to release something called membership. It lets people who buy the membership get better items. But the first time it was released it didn’t start very well. The people who had membership were dubbed as members and the people who didn’t have membership were basically dubbed as nons like non members. They were dubbed as the losers. 😦 Some members would pick on the nons like they didn’t belong there because they had better clothes, items, etc. Some people would also host tryouts and leave the nons out. Later on I found out this was called the Green War. I don’t really get why it was called that but that is what it was.

The next thing I remember is about the shops. Trade and Sell was one of the very first shops I heard. Trade and Sell let people buy good items for starred, coined, and basically anything for everyone. Users could also make fair trades with each other. Sounds good right? Too good to be true. People started getting greedy and started scamming people. Fantage was a lot more alive back then so they were constantly getting informed of people being scammed and who scammed them. They released a sign that talked about safe trading and how to refuse to double trade. Here’s a picture:
minus1
Then after a while they must have decided that the way to fix this problem was to close it and make a better store for what everyone wanted. Then this sign came up to everyone:
minus

The next shop they released after closing Trade and Sell was Vintage Gold. Vintage Gold was released and there was a lot less scamming. I do not get why Vintage Gold closed. I didn’t see any videos about people getting scammed in Vintage Gold like it would be in Trade and Sell. Eventually Vintage Gold was closed and a store we know so well PM Boutique took its place.

Before we get into PM Boutique let’s talk about the other Fantages that existed back then but sadly are closed now. There used to be a Fantage Europe, Fantage Japan, Fantage French, and Fantage Spanish. The Europe, Japan, and French one closed. The Spanish one is so unusual right now. More on that later because that’s more to the new Fantage than the old one.

What else about old F vantage that I heard about? Oh yes the famous people. There was Hall Of Fame in uptown that ranks you on your levels. The first person ever to reach first place user was civic_princess. She was well known on there because of her levels and because she had a youtube channel. Her boyfriend at that time red_ninja were very popular. They were admired for their videos together and civic was friends with a lot of the other famous people back then like boogieramon, wind, leonel2009, and more that I can’t name right now.

Of course Fantage being Fantage the players would want to buddy civic_princess just probably so they could boast saying CIVIC ADDED ME. JK! Anyway Jen wouldn’t add any others than the people she knew or was close to which makes sense. But sadly that caused problems. There was a lot of people who were mean to her and others would make other accounts and say that they were her. Same with red_ninja. Civic quit eventually and that was the last you heard of her. Some people said her father owned the site but heck people always say that.

The next person that showed up with famous background was saintsophie. She had a boyfriend called Ali with numbers in the beginning of her youtube channel. Then she started dating a boy named taeyangsolo. His real name was Danny. They would also make videos together like red and civic. Sophie grew more popular by the second. There was not a lot of hate towards her or not that I heard of. After a while they broke up and she was with tyiscool. Afterwards she disappeared. She does have another account called sophiatookawaii. On the Fantage wikipedia it says that she quit and her friend plays on her accounts now.

Sometime after civic quit but before Saintsophie left pinkstardust was the next person to reach the first place user. People started a rumor saying it was civic hiding in a new account. That wasn’t confirmed true or false at all or was it shown to be acknowledged. Pink also had a lot of drama/hate towards her.Many people called her mean and many called her kind and a really fun girl to hang with. I read something about her boyfriend before it was the famous mazes on here:

https://www.facebook.com/notes/fantage-bios-awesome-entertainment/book-1-daniels-diaries-the-story-of-daniel5465-by-daniel5465/590567794316642/

I am not so sure about the others like queen_bee, beauty_anime but I do know they quit. Pink had to leave sometime recently due to her family problems and lost her first place spot leaving someone to quickly snatch it up which they did. The first person after pink to do that was Gianna41295 (congratulations on your hard work paying off!) Loc’s weird accounts and then drew4011,jimmydean whoever he was, sans weird account, sharron29, and then Gianna again. Let the queen reign on her throne lmao.

Many of them in the Hall Of Fame have had their own share of virtual boyfriends. I would tell you all about them except I’m tired and there’s a good chance that I might fall asleep while I’m saying it. I’ll just make it short and do the two most famous couple on Fantage. Their users are nick wall and an_molly. A while ago I stumbled upon her blog but it is possible it might not have been her.Nickwall is currently 8245 and she is 8226. #goals

Let’s move off of the topic of famous fantagians for now and move to the community. You are all familiar with the number one complaint on here bae tryouts. I betcha you never knew the old words they used to call it. When Fantage first started they started calling it val,vev, and then PD for prom date. Then it got to beb. Fantage must have gotten complaints so they made sure the words didn’t show anymore. Typical Fantage players slide through the filter and make up a new word. It eventually got to the word whun or one until Fantage blocked that word. People can still say one but no one ever uses it for that anymore. It is very rare to see that word today.

What else? Oh well while I’m thinking I might as well give you some news about what’s going on around me. Where I live there is some issue where the schools aren’t getting paid enough money for what they do and they are planning to do a strike. Not planning to but it’s like a rumor. Everyone’s been talking about it. What’s a strike? A strike is when someone or a whole group of people refuse to come to their work until they can get what they want or reach some kind of deal. They will be voting tomorrow and if it goes through it means I don’t have school for some time. People around me are mad because they think if we have a few days off because of the strike we have to be in school longer in the summer. I don’t believe that so I’m not quite sure what’s happening yet. Personally this is completely funny to me.

I am kind of sick because I have a runny nose and things but it is getting better except I keep getting pounding headaches. I’m honestly so tired of getting headaches. I wish I knew a way to help the headaches except sometimes my headaches can be one of my two medical conditions so nothing I’ll do will help if that’s whats going on and making my head hurt. More on my next post.

Okay back to the old Fantage post. I still really can’t remember what I was going to say next but I’ll just make something up while I go. Nah, I wouldn’t do that. Now here comes to where Fantage starts to get even more complaints. After Vintage Gold closed they released something we all know well gold and my mall fondly or not fondly. When Mymall was first released it was for both nons and members. Their system was fun and fairly easy. You could get a free Mymall Token from Lucky Bot or buy a kiosk with gold. You would have a kiosk for an hour and put what items you had that you didn’t want on your kiosk. Someone who wanted that item would get it and you would get the minimum price of that item in gold. Good right? Right except that also turned kind of bad. People started scamming but that’s not what changed it. More on that later!

For the store that replaced Vintage Gold it is called PM Boutique. It is a store for members to rent 60 items for free a month and for them to get prizes. For instance there are themes you can dress for and vote on who you think is the best of the theme except no one votes for the theme. They vote for other reasons. If you get the winner you get a statue of your Fantagian with the user and you also get coins or stars based on which place you got. For the times I have become member that is a very fun shop. It is actually very calming to me too. I have seen many of the Hall of Fame users while I vote no doubt for them to level up.

What else was I going to say? Oh yes the disappearance of the Spanish server. This leads into the big part of this post. Sometime in the summer there was a user of the name li0r who showed up with the level one million. It was strange that he wasn’t in the spot Gianna usually holds since that was higher than her but it might have been because he hacked it. He would go to different places on Fantage and ask people to record him and look at his level. People were willingly doing what he asked. Then he quickly vanished.

Later on about a year later our famous Loc was arriving. He was seen standing in downtown and other places like the busiest places and using those besties things to curse at people. He found some way to say really vulgar words and caused a lot of chaos in downtown. Some people thought he was an admin and some people even came up with the theory that Fantage might have hired him themselves to get people on the game more but that was quickly shut down. His accounts eventually got banned probably because people were recording/taking pictures.

But that didn’t stop him. He decided to keep messing with them and the game. One of the things I remember him doing was messing with the member microphone which I personally hate and messing with the Fashion Battle. He also bought out Mymall somehow which caused Fantage to change it a bit. He used their ecoin exchange machine to get his really high levels so they took it out so he couldn’t use it. I’m not sure why they changed it to members only but probably just to get more money. They also got rid of the 50 floors and kiosks and changed it to buying tokens for gold and you have to wait 15 minutes for it to upload before people can buy it and you can get gold. I personally never got to use the kiosks but I did go to the rooms from time to time to look at the items or just hang out there. It was a good place to hang out.

Fantage also had their fair share of DDOS Attacks. They had one in 2015 and like two more last year. A quick recap of what a DDOS attack is. It’s something someone does to try to get something to shut down. They send these things that I think are like cyber bots and will make it temporarily unavailable. It is supposed to make them shut down but they don’t.You go Fantage! One time last year the servers all went down one by one. Your chat wouldn’t show, it would log you out, and get you stuck on 32 or 35 percent. It would also say your friends are on every server even if they weren’t. Luckily that was fixed and it worked for everyone. A few days ago it was down but it wasn’t confirmed as a DDOS attack.

Fantage might not be very alive on their pages but if it gets to be a huge problem they will say something. When the first DDOS attack happened and someone decided to start a rumor that it was closing they confirmed what was happening was a DDOS attack and were not going to shut down. Sometime last year when the hacking began they put something on their billboard. I forget what it was but they were basically saying play it safe and don’t get hacked. Good that they’re at least paying attention to their website even though its not shown.

Loc eventually claimed he quit and now even more people like them came on. The most intriguing one in this was savannah to me. Why? I love stuff like secret people, secret threats, basically secret everything. It gets me thinking. Why do I love that? Well I love Nancy Drew. There’s your answer.

I would see these random accounts go up to people and say: Your Items Will Be Gone Soon. Some members actually did lose their stuff but when people said it to me I would still have my stuff. But it would be really creepy but intriguing to see all these posts about people like seeing them in their Fantage house or sending memos. When it got bigger it became a prank and a troll. People started saying it as a joke or to scare people. You really couldn’t tell who was serious or not serious at all.

Something called duping suddenly became a thing. Don’t ask me what it is I do not know. I just asked some questions about it due to detective work wink wonk. Nah I was just confused. All I know now is that many people in Mymall pay for it off of others so they can get money or use something of their own. If you don’t do it exactly right Fantage will ban you permanently from ever going on that account. Sadly the cause of people duping have increased people’s hacking and snatching items. Many people have been hacked and lost their items. Remember in October there was this username called bxxtty who hacked people including the hall of Fame users leaving them basically naked. Good times. (Insert the sarcasm here.)

Anyway that’s basically all I remember about that time. Sorry for the really long post but I hope it’s useful and gives you back some memories as it did for me.

PEACE

3 thoughts on “Long but Much Needed Post

  1. Ever since I joined in 2012, I’ve seen plenty of things happen. First was Trade ‘n Sell, which was closed due to scamming, so Vintage Gold opened. When VG closed, many were unsure of why it closed because all you could do was voting and buying. After VG was PM Boutique, which isn’t really interesting. PMs can get 60-100 free items based on the number of months they were as a PM, and there’s an outfit voting thing (plus a few more medals). MyMall appeared when VG was about to close and there was a grand opening for the store. When MyMall came along, everyone could get a kiosk to sell 3 or 5 items depending if PM or non, buy listed items, and trade with others. There used to be a Gold-to-eCoin exchange machine, until Loc came along and used it to get many bonus levels with the exchanged eCoins, so that caused the machine to be removed. Eventually, MyMall was only for PMs and the kiosks were removed and the item search was updated. Now, only PMs can buy and sell (no trading) and everyone can still hangout in the one-floor store (used to have 50 floors, 7 rooms each, 10 kiosks per room). Fantage had experienced DDoS attacks, and versions were closed. The English one still remains and the Spanish one was the last to be removed. Also, people’s outfits had changed, from simple with non items to crazy non-matching (meaning: not good styling) various items (typically limiteds). People had changed, not just their outfits, but also their attitudes. Most people back then were nice and helpful, but now there’s mean people and also people (nons and PMs) doing nothing for at least an hour in Downtown. Thus, those in Downtown for at least an hour per day don’t level up much, so that’s why they are not part of the Top 300 (PMs only). I have become one of the Top 300, and I’m getting closer to the Top 50. Some people don’t want to be only the Top 50. They want to be the Top 10, so they have really high levels. Apparently, there would be a hacker or two as the Top 10, which is usually occupied by gianna4125, sharron29, an_molly, drew4011, cristina792, and nickwall. Yara_yara and aurora_3 had disappeared, but yara_yara may reappear anytime (rumors say aurora_3’s account has been banned).

    Fantage has a long history, but it’s too long to be in one comment.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I see. You’ll get different view points from other users because of when they joined. Those who played longer have a longer history than the newer players, unless they stopped playing for a number of years.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment